CS4740 Schedule (subject to change)

Date Topic To read/watch before class Assignment Out Assignment Due
Thurs Jan 18 Introduction      
Tues Jan 23 Introduction to Amazon Web Services (AWS)

Cloud computing

Amazon Web Services

PA#1 ("hello cloud world!")  
Thurs Jan 25 More on PA#1    
Tues Jan 30 Cloud storage, EULAs, and SLAs

Amazon's Storage and content delivery

Amazon's Database options

   
Thurs Feb 1 Cloud app design (e.g., scalability)

Scalability

Amdahl's law

TSP

  PA#1
Tues Feb 6 PaaS/Containers/Microservices

PaaS

OS-level virtualization

Docker

PA#2 (Containers)  
Thurs Feb 8 PaaS/Containers/Microservices  
Tues Feb 13 Inside datacenters (Comp Arch, OS, Xen)

Datacenters

Computer Architecture

x86

Virtualization

Xen

   
Thurs Feb 15 Inside datacenters (Comp Arch, OS, Xen)   PA#2
Tues Feb 20 Serverless/lambda

Serverless

AWS Lambda (wikipedia)

AWS Lambda (AWS)

PA#3 (Serverless)  
Thurs Feb 22 Serverless/lambda  
Tues Feb 27 DevOps DevOps  
Thurs Mar 1 Cloud security

Computer Security

Cloud security

PA#3
Tues Mar 6 No class -- Spring break!      
Tues Mar 8 No class -- Spring break!      
Tues Mar 13 Review for Midterm  
Thurs Mar 15 Midterm exam (closed books, closed notes)  
Tues Mar 20 Intro to Big Data et. al

Big Data

MapReduce

Hadoop

Spark

PA#4(hadoop)  
Thurs Mar 22 More Big Data et al    
Tues Mar 27 Hive & Pig

Hive

Pig

HBase

 
Thurs Mar 29 Open Source Private Cloud and Hybrid Cloud

Private Cloud

OpenStack

  PA#4
Tues Apr 3 Intro to noSQL NoSQL PA#5  
Thurs Apr 5 Cassandra, MongoDB, CouchDB

MongoDB

Cassandra

CouchDB

 
Tues Apr 10 Streaming data

Storm

AWS Kinesis

Thurs Apr 12 IOT / Edge

IOT

Edge computing

AWS IOT

  PA#5
Tues Apr 17 AI, GPU computing

AI

GPU computing

PA#6  
Thurs Apr 19 ML, TensorFlow

Machine Learning

TensorFlow

Tues Apr 24 AWS ML  
Thurs Apr 26 Cloud Misc: AR & VR, Blockchain

Augmented Reality (AR)

Virtual Reality (AR)

Blockchain

PA#6
Tues May 1 Course Wrap-up!    
     
Thursday, May 3, 2018, 2pm-4pm
Final exam (closed books,closed notes)